• ETSY

  • Archives

Mix Media December

This month on Indian Craft Room Coasteride, our host Akshma has created a fun challenge. Something to get you out of our comfort zone (that is if it is something you have not tried before). Mix Media Project!!! Check out the challenge HERE.

I like Mix Media, but always wonder where to start… I mean I know there is no specific way to do it. Sky is the limit… so an sort of OCD like me, who likes to plan out what needs to be made etc… this is hard at times… but I still like doing it. I have done it twice before this one… so I enjoyed making for this challenge. Forgive the photography… but we have had some dull gloomy days… HELLO WINTER!!!

icrcdec16a

So here is my creation. I used a frame backing to create this (I used the front for some other project). I started with adding Mix Media cardstock (Strathmore Brand) and coloring the background with distress inks. I used Spun Sugar, Victorian Velvet and Rusty Hinge -to match the cups. In between the colors I also applied Ranger Glue and Seal to seal the layers. I also used it to glue down the images and words.

icrcdec16b

The cup was what started this project. The cups were part of a pattern paper, that I fussy cut and glued down. The color combination and the quote came from the cups.

icrcdec16c

I used Tim Holtz Stencil and some Dreamwaver Embossing paste to create the background. Since it was embossing paste, I added stardust embossing powder and used heat gun to melt the powder.

icrcdec16d

The quote is a combo of wooden letters (colored with distress inks) and stamped letters- Lawn Fawn’s Owen’s ABC. Wink of Stella glitter pen and glossy accent give a nice touch to the die cut letters. I also added glossy accents to some parts of the cup. Ofcourse there has to be some distressing to the edges and the images and words to make them pop…that was done using Faber Castell’s Pitt Brush Pen-Dark Sepia (bought from local craft store).

So this is all from me today. Be sure to check out the other inspirations and join in the fun.

Until next time,

Happy Krafting,

Cheers =)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

