• ETSY

  • Archives

Rakhi Cards

Rakhi or Rakshabandhan is an Indian festival celebrating brother sister relationship. Usually it comes around in the month of August. The celebration is symbolized by a hand tie/bracelet/sacred thread known as Rakhi that the sister ties on the brother’s wrist. By tying the Rakhi, sister seeks her brother’s well being, while brother vows to protect the sister.

Some Rakhis. Courtesy: Google

So while I do not have brother of my own, I do have plenty of cousin brothers…although I only manage to personally send rakhis to all the cousins in U.S. mother dear takes care of cousins in India. So every year for cousins here, I make cards and send my rakhi for them with it. This is my creation for this year:

427a

So the image I used is not exactly rakhi types… it actually is a flower…from Handmade Floral Greetings stamp set which was part of their July Card Kit. I will be honest, I would never think of using this flower stamp to create a rakhi. But a crafty friend shared this card she made using stamps by a company called Mudra.

So there is an actual stamp set for this occasion, but alas, unavailable here. So when I saw this card, I thought of the flower from the July Kit and thought, it shall do πŸ˜€ You can check the stamp set and the post by Priya HERE.

427c

So I heat embossed the image with some glittery gold powder. Then used Zig Clean Color Markers to color in the image. A simple pearl in the center, and some coordinating twine completes the card.

427b

The sentiment is stamped using Sweet Shoppe Alphabet stamp set by Stampin’ Up! (retired)

So my sweet simple card is ready…for all brothers to receive, of course with an actual rakhi inside πŸ˜€

This is all for today,

Until next time,

Happy Krafting,

Cheers =)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

