• ETSY

  • Archives

Heart Punch Wall Art

We are back with a new challenge at Indian Craft Room. It is the first of the month, and it is time for a new CoasteRide …. ICRCSPR01. This month’s hostess came up with an amazing challenge…. actually made us work out of the box or should I say made me work out of the box. So the challenge:

http://indiancraftroom.proboards.com/attachment/download/318

What is challenging about this project you ask ? THE TWIST….NO CARDS!!!! I mean I like other kind of projects, but usually I end up making only cards….so this NO CARD twist made me a little nervous. And add to that flowers… I am not a flower person… getting into it but lately…. so after some pinterest search… found some inspiration:

All done with folded hearts! Cool.:            White 3D Flower wall art

 

So I found the first image on Pinterest, clicked on it to see the details and found an interesting way to make flowers…. Using heart punches. Now i know its not a new technique….however new for me 😉 and scrolling down I found the image with white flowers and loved the layout. So I decided to combine the technique with layout to create my wall art! Click on either of the pictures above to go to the original post.

My creation:

ICRCSPR01-1a

I used an 8″ x 10″ canvas as a base, Yellow-Pink-Blue-Green Flowers, and some pearls to make this fun decor. Since we are moving into spring, had to create something bright and cheerful 😀 Like the layout in Pic 2 from inspiration I wanted to cover just the middle of the canvas and that’s why I started in middle and then loved the way it turned out, got carried away and covered up all but that one corner 😀

ICRCSPR01-1b

Yess… these are made using heart punches…. I used heart punches and dies of various sizes to create all the flowers. I just punched out/ die cut plenty of hearts from each color…. then fold the heart in half (match the edges and use a bone folder for clean crease) I needed 7-8 hearts/flower to make a complete flower and used 4-5 hearts/flower for the flowers on edges/corners.

ICRCSPR01-1c

The little flowers were punched out using a tiny flower punch. Then using the back of a pencil and a piercing mat, I pressed the middle of the flowers to make the petals lift up and added a pearl to the middle. These tiny flowers make perfect space fillers. 🙂

It was absolutely fun to make this project….did not take too long and was very exciting throughout. My husband actually thought it looked nice (he always says he has no creativity so he does not know if a project looks good or bad hahaha).

Well, don’t forget to check out the challenge post and the wonderful creations of all the DT members at ICRCSPR01. This challenge has brought out some amazing projects :D.

Wait for the next round of inspirations in mid March. Until then, join in the challenge and try creating something with us!

Until next time,

Happy Krafting,

Cheers

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Flower Bag | Kreative Kookiez Crafts

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

