• ETSY

  • Archives

Flag Colors Blog Hop

Today I have a little mix media type wall art piece for the second Blog Hop at Indian Craft Room. This is a special blog hop as we are celebrating Indian Republic Day that falls in this month. January 26th was when India’s constitution came into force. So for the blog hop, our host Sharda decided to do something with the flag colors with a twist of Textures.

http://indiancraftroom.proboards.com/attachment/download/244

Just in case you are not sure what the Indian Flag looks like…..

Saffron, White, and Green with a Blue wheel in the middle. Each color has its own significance. Saffron stands for courage and selflessness. White signifies peace, honesty and purity. Green signifies fertility, prosperity and faith. Finally, the Blue wheel aka Ashoka Chakra stands for dharma and motion (that the country will not oppose change and move forward with modernization).

Now that we know a little history ( can you tell I love history :D) …lets move on with our blog hop. The challenge….It sounded fun…and I truly enjoyed making my project…however, it was challenge trying to make a card with this…so I went with a mix media wall art.

BH02d

It has been a while I did some mix media work…so I decided to make one, using a quote I found and loved. So I started with using My Favorite Things Stencil – Abstract Petal and Ranger’s Texture Paste. Once it was dry, I used Tim Holtz Distress Stain– Spiced Marmalade and Crushed Olive- to create the flag like look.

BH02e

The letters were the hardest decision… use stickers, chipboard or diecut…what size…. phew!!! Finally after a lot of thinking, I decided to use Stampin’ Up!’s Little Letter Thinlits Die. I wanted to bring the blue from the wheel in, so I first worked on how the words would be laid out. Once I had the placement, I used Blue cardstock to cut the words that would sit on the white part.

BH02f

I knew I wanted to use flowers for embellishment…. so I started to work on some paper flowers…then remembered these little flower my friend/ Business partner had saved from something and left behind. So I decided to use them. Perfect tiny addition!!

BH02c

In the end, I still felt it did not look complete and decided to put some orange-green rhinestones…. eh!!! Then sudden click …how about tiny white pearls??Perfect!!! A completed project!!!

Mix Media projects are always fun!!!

Well don’t forget to check out all the DT projects for this blog hop:

Sharada
Sathya
Paru
Bhavana
Gopi
Priya

REMEMBER to comment on the original blog post and comment on each DT blogΒ  in order to qualify to win a prize!!!

This is all for today,

Until next time,

Happy Krafting

Cheers =)

 

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Nice idea…superb quote…

    Like

    Reply
  2. Fab mixed media!! Love the detail!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Riswana Fathima

     /  January 21, 2016

    This is so cool πŸ™‚ & the quote is simply superb πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  4. Beautiful card, beautiful sentiment & those roses are an added beauty β™₯β™₯ love how you created the background, fabulous β™₯

    Like

    Reply
  5. It’s beautiful.love the message.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Lovely Creation with such a beautiful message !!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Shravika

     /  January 16, 2016

    Nice idea… different look

    Like

    Reply
  8. What a beautiful message!!! Loved the card and the colors used.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Karthikha Balasubramanian

     /  January 15, 2016

    Nice layout and colors matching the flag! A different take!

    Like

    Reply
  10. beautiful take on theme……

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

