• ETSY

  • Archives

School Bus Card/Punch Art

My nephew is turning 2 in few weeks….. His birthday party theme is Wheels on the Bus…. that boy loves the song and buses… singing it, watching it, dancing to it….everything possible. So his momma decided to celebrate with that theme. Its turning out cute…. His aunt is making all the theme related decor…. so I figured…need to find some bus related gift (which I did…cant wait to give it to him) and then decided to find Bus related card!! So Pintreset search later…I found BUS PUNCH ART by Diana Gibbs. You can find the post HERE.

So here is my version of the punch art:

BUS PUNCH ART

The only difference between mine and the one in the link above is the size of the main body of the bus. I made mine to be 3-3/4″ x 2-3/4″ … I liked this size better. The final product….

BUS PUNCH ART_1

Cute little bus…that can be layered on a card front or as a gift tag or put on a gift box. But this is not where I stopped…. I wanted to create a card for my munchkin. So more search later, I found this card made by Lori Mueller. Find the post HERE. Besides the measurements of the base, there is not much description… but with the punch art above, it was not hard to create a card of my own.

So here is my version of the card:

414b

OMG CUTE!!! I know…I could not believe when I was done!! How cute is this little thing….my bus lover boy is going to love it. So a quick tutorial on how I made it.

414

I started with a cardstock measuring 8″ x 6-1/2″ and scored it at 4″ and folded in half on the long side. On the left top corner, cut out a section measuring 2″ (Vertical) x 1-3/4″ (horizontal). Then I rounded the corners using my We R Memory Keepers Corner Chomper…used the 1/2″ side.

414a

Next, to create the wheels, I used the measurements in the Bus Punch Art above and punched out enough to make 4 tires (so 4 yellow circles, 4 black circles, 4 grey circles and 4 tiny black circles). I also cut 1/8 inch black strips to create the black lines on the bus.

I sponged the edges of the bus and the wheels with some mustard seed distress ink. I glued the yellow circle in the front first and then lined up the back circles with the front one. Finally cut out the extra bits of the yellow circle hanging out. Glue on the tires and black 1″ square pieces as windows.

414d

Of course the hexagon shaped stop sign (Simon Says Stamp die)…can’t forget that. Since it is his 2nd birthday, I decided to white emboss 2nd using the Stampin’ Up! Memorable Moments stamp set (retired) and also used Simon Says Stamp Happy Birthday Die. Added some Wink of Stella Clear Glitter for a subtle shine.

414e

Simply cute and awesome looking card. The final size of this card is 4-1/2 x 6-1/2. So will have to make an envelope that will hold the card well. One last look:

414c

I know my tiny tot will not really understand the efforts behind this card. But I know seeing this card will make him happy, he will be screaming “Wheels on the Bus, wheels on the bus”, smiling and hopefully his momma will save the card for him and show it to him some day!!

This is all for today,

Until next time,

Happy Krafting,

Cheers =)

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. OMGOSH!! Sooo adorbs! I am so touched that you found inspiration with my school bus card. Thank you for sharing your version…LOVE it!

    Like

    Reply
  1. Spiderman Birthday | Kreative Kookiez Crafts

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

