• ETSY

  • Archives

Box style Gift Card Holer

Yesterday I had to visit Michaels to buy some gold string for another project (to come soon), and I found these:

GH12F

Box style gift card holder (name I gave them) … made me think…hmm.. I wonder if I can make them. So I bought, pulled one apart and created my version of these gift card holder.

GH12H

So I decided to create a tutorial to make these easy gift card holders. I haven’t written a tutorial in a long time. So please bear with me! Now this can be made using cardstock or a nice sturdy printed paper. I made sample of both.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1.  Start with a cardstock or printed paper measuring 5-3/8″ x 9-3/8″. Score the long side at 3-1/2″, 4″ and 7-5/8″.  Next, score the short side at 1/2 and 1″ on both sides. As well score on 3/4″ upto the 3-1/2″ score line.

GH12

2. Next there will be some cutting. Cut out the pieces as shown in the picture (red lines) and notch out edges (black lines).

GH12A

 After cutting and notching, the cardstock should look like this. I also used corner rounder to round of the edges and used Adorning accents die by Stampin’ Up! to create a curve slit on the other end. (That would be the opening.) You could use circle punch, oval punch or word window punch. The idea is to create opening in order to be able to pull out the gift card easily.

GH12B

3. Next go ahead put the printed paper (if your base is cardstock). You will need 1pc of 3-1/4″ x 3-1/4″ for the front and 3-1/4″ x 1-1/2″ for the flap. Add glue to the edges (as shown in the pictures).

GH12C

4. Fold and reinforce all the scored lines using a bone folder. Next we will put the box together by attaching the small flaps to the nearest scored lines.

GH12D

and then attaching the back to the 2 side flaps, thus creating the box. Press firmly in order for the box to stick well. Also gently push into the score lines on the side.

5. Next use a hole punch to create holes on the front flap… on the score line where the flap folds down.GH12EPush ribbon through the holes and tie it to make a loop. Complete the decor of the gift holder with sentiment of your choice. I used “Merry Christmas” from Teeny Tiny Wishes by Stampin’ Up!. Finally attach velcro or magnets for closure.

GH12I

The gift cards fit well with plenty of wiggle room. It could also be used as money holder and can be hung on Christmas tree.

GH12J

Hopefully you will enjoy making this gift card holder as much as I did. I will be happy to answer any questions you have. Leave a comment and I will reply as soon as possible.

Thank you for stopping by,

Until next time,

Happy Krafting

Cheers =)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

