• ETSY

  • Archives

Colorful Birthday

Lately I have been getting into challenge blogs. I came across this new challenge blog… their inspiration… RUNWAY!!! A-MA-ZING!!! These ladies have combined their creativity with inspiration from the runway!! Honestly… it is very interesting… and challenging I think. I loved it. The blog is called Runway Inspired Challenge. So do check them out.

Here is their inspiration for the current challenge:

Colorful, blue… if you zoom in…you can see the skirt has pleat like thing going on…. So I decided to create a kind of replica of the bottom part of the dress. So here is what I started with:

401dI colored these using the Kureatke Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers and made score lines every 1/4″ using Stampin’ Up Simply Scored . Then layered it on white cardstock…..FAIL! Added a blue cardstock and layered on it FAIL! Then I decided to die cut Happy Birthday out of blue cardstock and layered it on this colored panel (FAIL!) Then finally took the courage to die cut Happy Birthday from the colored piece. It looked nice… but the inspiration has these bright colors popping… I wanted to do the same. So instead I ended up using the negative space of the die cuts and  Happy Birthday die cut from white cardstock, layered it together to make the main images of my card.

Finally, the full card:

401aYes, lot of piecing… but I am glad I kept the itty bitty pieces from the die cut and did not throw them right away. This turned out so much better than the colorful die cuts (which I will definitely used in another project). My pleats were not so prominent after going through the die cut machine. So I added a blue cardstock that is scored at every 1/4″.

401bSome white acryclic paint splatters, a white ribbon and popped up panels… the card is done!! Started out fun, then went on to be “Im not sure about this, to pretty nice!!

Fun Challenge, fun card…cant wait for their next challenge.

This is all for now.

Until next time,

Happy Krafting,

Cheers =)

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. jenniferrzasa

     /  October 19, 2015

    Oh my gosh, your colored panel is spot on! It looks EXACTLY like the skirt – you are skilled! This card is so much fun, and I love the addition of the white splatter. Thanks so much for joining us on the Runway!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

