• ETSY

  • Archives

Welcome-See You Soon

Today I have a nice idea for wall art that can be placed at the entrance of your home…or could have variation and be hung anywhere you like. During one of my visits to Michaels I saw this cute frame ..only if I had clicked a pic of it 😦 …well it was a frame with wires to hang pictures….it had a nice grungy look…with nice blue color. I loved it and thought of getting it….but dropped the idea when I saw the price (39.99$) and thought…well I can make this! So here go my DIY for my home’s front entrance. I bought a pack of Ook 9 ft galvanized braided hanging wire cost $1.99 .. dug through my collection of items and found two frames that I had bought a while ago in clearance from Michaels ($2.49 each). I decided to go with making a “Welcome” and “See U Soon” signs.

EWA1So I got cracking…. BTW the frames are meant to fit 8″ x 10″ photo…so yeah… they are not big frames.

EWA2I started to put the wire on my frame…then realized…I love the red tone…however these frames are going to hang next to a black frame mirror…. so I decided to paint these black… used black acrylic. I sanded it a little then applied 2 coats…. of course let it dry between coats. There is a still a little red tone peeking through if you look closely (in person) but I like it…just adds to the look. Next I used scor tape to attach the wires to the frame and finally put a piece of black cardstock to seal it up.

EWA3Then I used Silhouette Cameo to cut out banners and Lawn Fawn’s Owen ABC stamp and coordinating Lawn Cuts die set to cut out the letters. I used Simon Says Stamp’s Lipstick Red ink to stamp. Then I popped the letters on colored 3/4″ circles and glued it to the banner pieces. Finally I added some Clear Wink of Stella and Glossy Accents to finish off. Then I punched holes with 1/16th inch punch and added some Lawn Fawn Sweetheart Trimming and attached it to the picture wires. I also used some glue dots to stick the banners in place.

Now ….. the complete piece 😀

EWA4I love it…. and am glad hubbs agreed to my idea…. (yess when it comes to home decor he does like to give his opinion :D)

EWA6One last close up 😉

EWA5

Then I went ahead and put it on the wall:

EWA7Unfortunately this picture does not look great…but in person it looks wonderful around this big frame. The See you soon is close to the door… and when the door opens…it is kind of out of sight…so first thing anyone entering would see is the “Welcome” 😀 Now I have the backing and the glass of this frame… some project with that soon 😉

This is all for today,

Until next time,

Happy Krafting

Cheers =)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Kreative Kookiez Crafts on WordPress.com
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Categories

